CEHL is registered housing association and not-for-profit organisation, limited by shares.  It acts as the manager of the Co-operative Housing Program within the constraints of Corporations Law, it's funding agreement with the Office of Housing and the Housing Act 1983 (the Act), the Program Principles and the policy directions of it's Board of Directors. 

Each member co-operative holds a single share in CEHL and has a single vote at any shareholder meetings, including the Annual General Meeting of the company.

The Board of Directors who are responsible for the strategic management and financial performance of the organisation.

The Board is made up of:

  • Five co-op elected directors, elected by the CEHL shareholder housing co-operatives at the Annual General Meeting (elected for a two-year term)
  • Five appointed directors are appointed by the Board based on their expertise in one of the following areas; Law, Finance, Real Estate, Social Housing or other like disciplines. Technical Directors are appointed for two-years
  • The Managing Director, who is appointed by the Board

Committees, made up of Board members and independent consultants, meet regularly to progress strategic initiatives in:

  • Property
  • Finance and Risk
  • People Culture and Governance
  • Policy (includes nine regional Co-op representatives, elected at Regional Forums)

From time to time, the Board instructs CEHL to appoint an Advisory Group to consult with members on issues of program significance. Advisory Groups are made up of co-op members, an independent Chair, and technical experts (if required).

The Board meets monthly at the Richmond office.

The CEHL board approves a Shareholder Report of board meetings to be made available to member co-ops. These are being progressively uploaded into the member portal.

CEHL Annual Report – read CEHL’s latest and past Annual Reports.

Compliance and regulation

CEHL complies with the Victorian Housing Registrar's Performance Standards and legislative requirements as prescribed in the Housing Act 1983 (the Act).

Board members