CEHL Board

The Board of CEHL operates on a Governance model whereby it is responsible for the strategic management and the overall financial performance of the Company.

The Board is comprised of eleven members being:

  • Five Co-Op Directors each elected for 2 year terms by the shareholders at the AGM

  • Five Technical Directors are appointed by the Board based on their expertise in one of the following areas; Law, Finance, Real Estate, Social Housing or like disciplines. Technical Directors are appointed for 2 year terms

  • The Managing Director is appointed by the Board and comprises the eleventh position on the Board

The Board meets monthly at the Richmond office.

A copy of the Public Record of CEHL Board Meetings can found in the News and Publications section of this website. 

To contact the board, write to:  The Board of Directors
Common Equity Housing Ltd
Level 1, 112 Balmain Street
Richmond VIC 3121

Current CEHL Board members include:

Karren Walker Chairperson and CERC Director

B. Ed. (Sec), Grad. Dip. App. Phil., Grad. Cert. Housing Mgmt. Pol. Karren has been a CERC member since 1989 and was elected to the Board  on 2005 and to Chair in November 2009.

David Spenceley CERC Director

David has been a member of Futures CERC since 2010 and was elected to the Board at the AGM on 29 November 2014 and re-elected 26 November 2016. David has held roles as Chairman, Treasurer and Rents Officer in his co-op. David is on the Finance and Risk Committee.

Fiona Herman CERC Director

Bachelor of Health (Nursing), Fiona has been a member of Endeavour CERC since 1999 and was elected to the Board in 2015. Fiona is the Chair of the Policy Advisory Committee.

Heidi Lee CERC Director

MA Architecture (Research) Bachelor of Arts (Architecture)(Hons). Heidi has been a member of Earth CERC since 2011 and elected to the Board at the AGM on 28th November 2015.

Sylwia Greda-Bogusz CERC Director

Sylwia has been a Castle CERC member since 2013 and was elected to the Board at the AGM 26 November 2016. In October 2016 Sylwia received an Award for Meritorious Service to the Community awarded by the Premier of Victoria, Governor of Victoria and Victorian Multicultural Commission.

Stephen Nash CEHL Managing Director

Stephen was appointed Managing Director in November 2013. He has a Master of Applied Science (Innovation and Service Management), a Graduate Certificate in Housing Management and Policy, and an Associate Diploma in Welfare Studies. He has worked in the Community Housing sector for 25 years, mostly in senior management roles.

Brodie Woodland Technical Director

MA. Public Administration, Bachelor of Law (LLB) (Hons) AICD. Brodie is a lawyer and governance adviser who has worked extensively in State government.

David Williams Technical Director

B.Comm, B.Ed (Melbourne University), Dip.Bus (RMIT), FCPA. David has been a Director of CEHL since March 2003. He is Director of Williams, Dodd & Associates Pty Ltd.

Joel Chibert Technical Director

B.Comm, member ICAA and AICD. Joel is the Director, Research and Revenue Accounting Services for Monash University. He joined the Board in May 2012.

Stephen Copland Technical Director

Steve is a highly experienced property developer (with a background in the Ministry of Housing and for the last 8 years at National Pacific Properties) who has been on the UDIA Board for 10 years (including 2 years as chair).

Tony De Domenico Technical Director

FAIM, MAICD, APRIA. Tony was CEO of the UDIA for 10 years until 2014 before being appointed Chair of Places Victoria and Chair of AHURI. He joined the Board in February 2013.


Finance & Risk Committee Governance Charter [493KB]

People Culture and Governance Committee Governance Charter [430 KB]

Property Committee Governance Charter [477 KB]

Policy Advisory Committee Governance Charter [598 KB]

Compliance and regulation

CEHL Housing Program complies with the Victorian Housing Registrar's performance standards and legislative requirements set out in the Housing Act 1983 (the Act).